Burda Style Magazine October 2013

When I saw the cover of this issue I didn’t hold out much hope. Out of all the wonderful patterns in this issue – Burda chooses a humdrum, I’ll fitting lumpy bumpy ensemble made from what looks like the seat covering from a 1989 corolla to put on the front cover. The tied belt does nothing for the jacket except to highlight that it doesn’t fit the model – not to mention the press studs look cheap. So if I wasn’t a total burda junky I would of breezed past this mag on the news stands…

However besides the terrible cover image, there are actually many many patterns that will make my must make list!

I’m starting with the kids patterns. I want to make absolutely every one of them. All so cool and funky and totally wearable. Stay tuned – pretty sure both my girls will be rocking a few of these outfits in the coming months. I’ve already made a pair of the pants in a red star fabric – I’ll post pics soon.

Another stand out for me is the hippy story, sure nothing new and edgy here, but who doesn’t love a bit of boho in their wardrobe? The short jacket and long coat are both cool and the banana skirt is fun. I’m thinking of making it feel a bit more modern in a black/white combo.

I haven’t made a skirt for a while and this issue offers two great simple versions – the a-line with pockets looks like a perfect work go-to and with a longer hemline (and less sparkles) the flippy skirt is also cute.

One of my favorite outfits in this issue is the boucle coat and floral trousers – sweet and cool. I’m thinking Jackie O would not of looked out of place in this ensemble.

I so very very much want to love the cape in this issue but there is something I cant put my finger on that is preventing it from making my list. Is it the chunky collar? Or the proportions? Hmmm I’ll keep waiting for the perfect Burda cape…

I’ve seen a few versions of the jersey dress that burda members have made. Especially love this one (http://www.burdastyle.com/projects/dress-burda-122-102013) I really really love this dress but I don’t feel comfortable wearing anything tight around my hips/bum. I’m wondering how hard it would be to make the skirt a more a-line in fit?

Thanks Burda for this issue – lots of variety, sprinkled with fun (although you loose marks for the hideous cover) now…. To try and fit in some sewing time!

burdastyle_10_2013

Leave a comment

Make&Wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog